Worshiped by Wolves

This meme showed up in my Facebook news feed the other day.

I have not been able to locate the original of this image. If you know who made it, please comment so I can give proper credit. 

It was love at first sight.  (Although I might change “mist” to “fog” to reflect my lupus-scrambled brain.)  I like being linked to a wolf.  From almost the beginning, I have envisioned lupus as an invisible wolf living with me, peaceful most of the time but unstable enough to attack at any moment.  But this meme puts a new twist on it: what if my body is not being invaded by a wolf but is instead being worshiped by one?

Maybe there’s something special about my immune system or even about my body that wolves admire.  Something mysterious.  Or maybe I’m a moon.  (Well, I am round and white, come to think of it.)

That’s one thing lupus has that all my other diseases have not: a cool mascot.  The Raynaud’s Association adopted a blue-footed booby*, but somehow boobies aren’t as mysterious and mythical as wolves.  Not that kind of boobies, anyway.  The National Kidney Foundation has a kidney-shaped cartoon character named Billy the Kidney shilling for it.*  Oliver, an appropriately shaped cartoon character, educates people about viral hepatitis, but I don’t have that.*  There’s a crab for myeloma, which isn’t quite a mascot; nothing at all for MGUS; and diabetes seems to have a veritable zoo of mascots.*  But none of those are as enticing, as bewitching, as seductive, as my now-beloved wolf. 

Worship me, my pet.  Live beside me.  Live within me.  Create the fog that clouds my brain.  Embellish me with a connection that others don’t have, a link to your dark and mysterious world.  Let me find something ethereal in the disease that rules over my life.  

Let me howl at the full moon and believe that somehow there’s more to being sick than just being sick.  

  ~~~

*For more information on Shivers the blue-footed booby, see Raynaud’s Mascot.  Billy the Kidney is pictured at Nat’l Kidney Foundation .  Oliver can be found here: Hepatitis Oliver.  To find an explanation of crabs and cancer, check this site: CRAB and Myeloma.  

 

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

