Magic Markers

Oops, I almost forgot to write a post for this month.  Not surprising, though.  I kind of gave up on NaNoWriMo, too, after all the election mess plus my usual financial difficulties.  Too much.  Too much to think.  Too much to do.  Not enough spoons, not enough money, as ever.

I can’t think of anything to write except hey, it’s the last month of a pretty lousy year.  But I don’t believe in artificial markers.  Nothing magical will happen at 12 a.m. on Jan. 1.  It never has before, and I doubt it will now.  Nothing happens at all the midnights during the year, why should it happen on this one?  Life goes on as always in one continuous loop.

Yet it can be good to have a marker.  Something to give us a reason to climb out of the rut we’ve gotten stuck in so we can start again, believing this time things will be different.  Changing the way we view things can make them different.

So there’s one more month to slog through before that magical marker shows up, moving us into a new year which hopefully will be less stressful than this one has been.  But why wait till then?  Why not say wow, it’s a new month, November was tainted but December will be great!

Hmm.  Maybe because every month this year (so far) has been hard.  January sucked.  February was dismal.  March was phooey.  April ended horribly, May was a nightmare, and June echoed May, July… yeah, I can find something unpleasant in each month of 2016.  If I believe the whole year is cursed, I would sit here and cower at the sight of December, fearing what tragedy will take place.  I might be tempted to force something bad to happen just to get it out of the way.  Or I could think that perhaps 2016’s vengeance has worn itself out and December will be bland.  But most likely, I’ll just keep doing what I do, day in, day out, over and over again, and I’ll try to ignore the cursed markers that don’t mean anything except in our minds.

~~~

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a comment