Current Conditions

 

Blog time.  Not feeling it right now, but I’ve posted a blog every other Thursday since January and I’ve no intention of stopping now.  So I’m gonna do something I used to do: start with a report on current conditions. 

It’s Wednesday morning, Oct. 14, 2015.  Time now: 6:47 a.m.  Too early to be up but I was too uncomfortable to sleep.  I’ve been awake for 2 hours.  Listening to Martine Girault, “The Revival” (long version).  Nice smooth music, good for this time of day.  I’m wearing a Stewart black tartan cotton flannel nightgown.  Very soft fabric.  The dog has a matching blanket he sleeps on in the hallway between our bedrooms – or in one of our bedrooms or in the bathroom, depending on where he decides to put his blankie for the night.  It’s funny to watch him scratch the blanket around with his feet to move it right where he wants it.  Currently it’s blocking the doorway to the hall and I have to step over him in the dark.  That’s why I gave him the black tartan: his white fur shows up even in the middle of the night. 

It’s nice outside right now.  Cool enough to feel like fall, although that will go away once the sun comes blasting over the horizon.  I hear what I think is an owl.  Whatever it is hoots at night but so far I’ve been unable to see it.  I open the front door to see if I can find anything, but all I find is that whatever it is is across the street.  The dog, of course, runs as soon as he realizes the door is open and insists on sitting there gaping out the screen door into the pre-dawn.  In this neighborhood, I feel uneasy with the door open that early, even with the screen latched, so as soon as he has an itching fit and goes off to scratch, I shut the door.  He comes back and stares at the closed door and then stares at me.  Too bad, doggy.  You leave, it’s closed, the end.  I shouldn’t even be up this early. 

Once again, I have too much to do.  Alter a Power Ranger costume before Saturday.  Finish an Elizabeth Swann costume before Sunday.  Read.  (I won 17 books in a giveaway.  Yikes.  I’ll be reading for months!)  Write.  I’m working on not one but two – count ‘em, two – novels.  And in a questionable move, I signed up for a writing MOOC, knowing I had costumes to make and NaNoWriMo in November, but I can’t seem to keep up with the homework.  Plus I’m working on my diet.  NO, not that definition.  “Diet” also refers to what you eat, not just “gotta lose weight”.  I’m reworking what I eat in an attempt to bring my blood sugar down from “prediabetic” to “maybe not prediabetic”.  That’s important.  My kidneys already are damaged from lupus.  They don’t need to have to deal with diabetes, too. 

Now it’s 7:07.  (Still a.m.)  Windows media player just finished “Outside” by Staind, and now it’s playing “So Far Away” by Carole King.  Next up: “Windowpane” by Opeth. 

I’m yawning.  Guess I’ll head back to bed.  There’s too much to do to sleep, but the wolf demands it.  Besides, the sky is starting to lighten.  What better time to go to bed than dawn? 

 

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

