WTB an exorcism

I don’t really have anything planned for this blog.  It’s been another one of those weeks when I wish people would just go away and leave me alone.  But since that doesn’t happen, I escape into my writing.  It’s a great way to get away from the idiocy of the world for a few minutes and forget about all the stupidity that goes on.  Only problem is, I don’t feel like I’m getting anywhere.  I try, but I keep running into something like this:

Me: Okay, this idea will make a good story.  Interesting characters, nice storyline, yep.  Now how can I fit this…

Brain: Wait, what about this idea?  These characters could do this…

Me: nope, that’s fanfiction.  I can’t publish fanfiction.  Go away.  Now, in my story, the main character can be…

Brain: No, listen, this is really cool.

Me: Well, now that you mention it, that does sounds… NO.  I’m writing my own story.

Brain: It would be really fun if this happened.

Me: SHUT UP.

Brain: This could explain why that other thing happened.

Me: Oh yeah?  That would be neat to finally know… NO.  GO AWAY.

Brain: Nope.  I’m gonna stay here till you write this idea down.

Me: *sigh* Okay.  Let me open a new doc.

The worst part is that the fanfiction stories are so easy to write.  The fanfiction world is a beautiful, elaborate playground with lots of pretties and shinies and little hidden niches that no one else has discovered.  I don’t have to invent a world or a history or social constructs or anything.  The stories practically write themselves, they just need my hands to put the words on paper.  It’s really disrupting my plans to write my own stories.

So where can I go to get a fanfiction exorcism?

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

