I hope you know who you are, but I won’t hold my breath

It’s time for the funeral rant.

One thing I guarantee you’ll see when someone dies is the crass, selfish side of humanity.  People become complete hedonists, asking questions they have no right to ask, wanting things that don’t belong to them.  Why is that?  Is it because we are used to hearing all the intimate details of celebrities’ lives?  We get so used to reading every little item about them that we think we deserve to hear it all about ordinary people, too?  As far as I’m concerned, we have no business prying into all the private details of celebrities, and you certainly won’t be hearing anything from me about a non-celebrity that you do not need to know.

You might as well forgo asking me the gory details of my sister’s death because I don’t know.  I was not there.  And I won’t be asking my father, either.  I cannot imagine walking into a house and finding your child dead.  If you want to ask him… may God have mercy on your soul.  I refuse to pry for details.  She went to sleep late Thursday or early Friday and didn’t wake up the next morning.  You knew she was on dialysis; she wasn’t well; that should suffice.  Even if I did know more, I would not tell you because it’s none of your business.

You can also stop asking for things that don’t belong to you.  You won’t get them.  If there is something specific – something special to you, perhaps that you had given Greta – some special remembrance – we would be glad for you to have it.  We want you to have good memories of her.  Your asking for anything else only makes you look like a fool.

Nor do I care to hear your critique of her funeral.  When you have to plan a funeral for your child, you can do it however you please.  It’s not your choice how other people handle it.

I’ve been patient as I can, dealing with all this, and there’s still her house and her belongings to sort out.  That may be the hardest part of all.  If you have legitimate questions or requests, fine.  I will do my best to help you out.  Otherwise, please leave me alone for a while.  Life goes on, whether we want it to or not, and I have to study for my English final.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

